Harry and Martha Cohen Award

Harry and Martha copy

2018 Harry & Martha Cohen Award Call for Nominations

Since 1984, Alberta Theatre Projects has been proud to partner with the Cohen family to present The Harry and Martha Cohen Award for significant and sustained contribution to theatre in Calgary.

 Do you know someone who is an inspiration in our theatre community in Calgary?

Is there someone who continually inspires you?  Does this person set the bar in terms of their passion and commitment to our theatrical community in Calgary?  Do they ALWAYS go above and beyond; mentor, coach, etc.?  This person may be a leader onstage, offstage or backstage; an actor, director, playwright, designer, administrator, philanthropist, dramaturge, manager, teacher, technician or volunteer.

 Do you want them to know how vital their contribution is and how deeply they are appreciated? 

We will gather at the closing night performance of GLORY, by Tracey Power on Saturday, April 21st , 2018. The award ceremony will take place following the performance. At that ceremony the recipient will be honoured with a cash prize of $1500 and a framed certificate.  Additionally, the recipient’s name will be added to the list of our past honourees and inscribed on a scroll that hangs in our lobby in Martha’s Corner.

 It will take very little of your time to nominate a theatre champion!

To nominate an inspirational theatre champion, simply download and fill out the form linked below.

2018 Nomination Form   |   2018 Call for Nominations

  • A 250-400 word statement must accompany the nomination – but that’s always easy to create when someone deserves recognition.
  • Outline the reason for the nomination and make direct reference to the nature in which the nominee has made a significant and sustained contribution to theatre in Calgary.

Nominations should also include:

  • A resume of the nominee.
  • At least 2 letters of support.
  • Any other documentation deemed useful in assessing the qualifications of the nominee.
  • Anyone can be a nominator or seconder. Applications will not be returned.
  • Please limit submissions to 8 pages maximum.
  • All nominations remain eligible for two years.
  • Nominations are being accepted from now until Friday, March 9th, 2018 at 5 pm.

The nominations will be reviewed by an anonymous, independent jury.  Jury members have various backgrounds and connections to the Calgary theatre community.

** Please note: only the chosen recipient will be contacted. The nominator and seconder of the 2017 recipient will be invited to attend both the production of GLORY and the ceremony that follows.

Thank you for taking the time to help us celebrate extraordinary leaders in our community and for your continued support of theatre in Calgary!  We look forward to hearing from you.

For more information please contact Kathryn Kerbes, Donor Relations and Special Events Manager at 403-294-7475 ext. 2345 or kkerbes@ATPlive.com

Previous Harry & Martha Cohen Award Recipients  |  Photo by Jeff Yee
Left to right back row – Hal Kerbes, Terry Gunvordahl, Grant Reddick,  Bartley Bard, Kathryn Kerbes, Duval Lang
Middle row – Clarice Siebens, David LeReaney, Marilyn Potts, Val Pearson, Margaret Bard
Front row – Dianne Goodman, Carol Dann, Cheryl Cohen

2017 Recipient, Carol Dann

Carol Dann is simply one of the best supporters an arts organization could ask for, and we’re delighted to be one of the many theatre companies in Calgary she so generously supports with her time. The health and vibrancy of our city’s arts scene depends on the dedication and tireless effort of volunteers like Carol. From the bottom of our hearts: thank you Carol! We couldn’t do it without you!

Photo by Jeff Yee

All Previous Recipients:

1986   Betty Gibb
1987   Grant Reddick
1988   Margaret Bard and Bartley Bard
1989   Joyce Doolittle
1990   Georgie Collins
1991   Blake Brooker and Michael Green
1992   D. Michael Dobbin
1993   Marilyn Potts
1994   Fred Scott
1995   JoAnne James
1996   Duval Lang
1997   Gillian Dalton
1998   Hal Kerbes and Kathryn Kerbes
1999   Sharon Pollock
2000   David LeReaney
2001   Bob White
2002   Jock Osler
2003   John Murrell
2004   Valerie Ann Pearson
2005   Dianne Goodman
2006   Clarice Evans
2007   Lynn DuFort
2008   Stephen Hair
2009   Doug Curtis
2010   Patricia Benedict
2011   Celebration of Past Recipients
2012   Mark Bellamy
2013   Patti Pon
2014   Patricia Moore and Sherrold Moore
2015   Kevin McKendrick
2016   Terry Gunvordahl
2017   Carol Dann